Honey Mustard Chicken and Baked Sweet Potatoe Fries

As promise yesterday, I have a deliciously sweet and spicy dish for you. I found the original recipes on My Fitness Pal’s Blog and Pinterest and then modified them to fit my lifestyle and kitchen supplies ;-).

I love seasoned sweet potato fries!  What’s not to like right?  Sweet and salty at the same time and a good source of fiber! They also have less carbs and calories than regular potatoes.  But here’s the thing…I have to stay away from fried foods. 😦  So I scoured the internet for a baked version.  Here’s what I found out…If I want simple and easy, they are not going to be crispy.  I’m okay with this, because as long as it has flavor, I can deal with them being a little on the soft side.  These were very flavorful and relatively easy to make!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I like recipes that I can reduce or increase as needed.  My husband and daughter don’t really like variety so I often have to make a separate meal for me.  This recipe is for 1 medium potato, but the original recipe was for 2.

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 1 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Scrub the potato and slice it into strips about 1/4 inch wide (I do not own a very good knife so this was a little challenging but I did the best I could lol)
  3. Mix all the ingredients in a plastic, resealable bag and add the sliced potatoes. Seal bag and shake well until all the potatoes are well coated.
  4. Place the slices in a single layer on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper.
  5. Place in the oven for 25-30 minutes.

Source for recipe: Gimme Some Oven Blog

I paired the sweet potato fries with honey mustard chicken breast. I love the blend of spicy mustard with sweet honey and spices.  This was a very easy and tasty recipe. The original recipe was created for 24 ounces of chicken, but I only needed about 1/2 of that, so I modified the amount of the ingredients. I also didn’t include parsley because I didn’t have any handy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients:

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 1/8 cup of honey
  • 1/8 cup of spicy mustard
  • 1/2 Tbsp of dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 Tbsp of lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper to taste (I used about 1/4 tsp.)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Rinse and pat dry the chicken breast, place in a baking dish, salt and pepper.
  3. In a small bowl, mix the rest of the ingredients.
  4. Pour the mixture over the two breasts to coat.
  5. Place in oven and bake for 40 minutes.

Enjoy!

Source for recipe:  MyFitnessPal – Hello Healthy Blog

 

Leave a Reply

